Context Matters

Context Matters: Additional Factors discusses some of the factors that effect our individual response to the Whole30 program. Context is defined as “the circumstances that form the setting for an event, statement, or idea, and in terms of which it can be fully understood and assessed.” These additional factors are age, health history, and genetics. My context with each of these factors is below.

Age: I am in my mid-thirties so I am still young but differently not a teenager anymore. I have already started to see some changes in my metabolism and exercise in the last few years.

Health History: One thing mentioned in the article is yo-yo dieting. I have done my far share of dieting for the last 15 years and I am sure that effects my metabolism and my ability to lose weight.

Genetics: my mother has high blood pressure and diabetes which are both things I want to prevent in my own life.

It is also good to know that even with these factors I can make changes and become healthier maybe even healthier than I have ever been.

Leave a Reply

