Getting Real Day 8

Sleep

I went to be about 9:30 which is a good time for me since I get up at 6am. I set my alarm for 5:50 just so I can hit snooze which I know is silly but it is what I have done for years. Sometimes I don’t even notice that I snoozed the first alarm. Today I got up without snooze so I make it to work 15 minutes early. I slept pretty well but I was awake several time during the night.

Breakfast

IMG_6037

2 hard boiled eggs with guacamole, 1/2 apple, 3 slices prosciutto. I did not really want to eat anything this morning but breakfast is the most important meal of the day right? I ended up glad that I ate but I got hungry sooner than I expected.

Lunch

IMG_6032

Basically the same as yesterday. Normally I will make extra when I cook so I can have leftovers especially for lunch. I try not to make more that 3 days worth of leftovers because I get tired of eating the same thing over and over.

Baked tilapia, shredded cabbage with olive oil, 8 grape tomatoes, Whole Foods mango pineapple salsa, and guacamole.

Snack

IMG_6033

I planned a huge snack for some reason. I guess I was hungry when I was packing my lunch and snack yesterday.

10 strawberries, 6 cherries, 2 apricots, 2 TBSP coconut milk, 1 hard boiled egg. The photo has flaked coconut and pumpkin seeds in it but I ended up not eating those.

Exercise

CrossFit. My goal is 3 classes this week plus 1 session of yoga and the Olympic Weightlifting Technique class. I really need to work on my overhead squats so the running in this workout did not deter me from going to class.

3×5 OHS @ 80
“Nancy”
AMRAP 20
15 OHS
Run 400M

My score: 3 rounds + 15 and 230m using PVC (no weight) and rowing instead of running. It was a hard 20 minutes.

Dinner

IMG_6040

I browned a pound of ground beef with olive oil, onion, garlic, salt, and pepper to eat this week. For dinner, I had some of the beef with a fried egg, roasted sweet potatoes, and a salad of cucumbers, tomatoes, and red bell pepper with Tessemae’s Cracked Pepper dressing.

Overall

Today was pretty good. I am glad I ate breakfast even though I did not feel great when I got up and I was glad I worked out today. My energy levels were pretty stable after I got going but I did consider going back to bed.

In other news, I sent the first complete draft of my dissertation to my professor today. <happy dance>

Leave a Reply

