Getting Real Day 3

Sleep

I had a horrible time falling asleep last night and then was pretty restless all night. It was really hard to get up this morning.

Breakfast

IMG_6001

2 hard boiled eggs, 2 slices smoked salmon, 8 strawberries, guacamole.

Nom Nom Paleo has a great recipe for perfect boiled eggs. Mine were still pretty hard to peel but no green ring. Nom Nom Paleo is another great resource for Whole30 recipes.

Lunch

IMG_5997

Lunch was basically the same as yesterday. Salad with protein is my go to lunch anyway. I cooked extra shrimp last night so I had leftover shrimp for today’s salad. The salad was the same: romaine and spinach, sliced cucumber, diced red bell pepper, grape tomatoes, and dressing made from extra virgin olive oil, apple cider vinegar, and Dijon mustard and a dash of hot sauce.

Snack

IMG_6000

I changed up my snack just a little today. 2 apricots (bought another quart at the farmers’ market so this trend will continue for another week), 10 cherries, 1 oz almonds, and 1 hard boiled egg. I am hoping the extra protein with help round out my snack a little.

Exercise

Rest day but did a brisk walk for 20 minutes.

Dinner

Thai red curry chicken (makes 3 servings)

  • 1 TBSP coconut oil
  • 1 medium onion, sliced
  • 1 red bell pepper, diced
  • 5 mushrooms, quartered
  • 1/2 cup pineapple chunks
  • 1 can full fat coconut milk
  • 2 TBSP red curry paste
  • 1 tsp minced garlic
  • 1 tsp grated ginger
  • 1/2 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 lime, juiced
  • 3 cooked chicken breasts, chopped or shredded

Cook the onions, peppers, and mushrooms in the coconut oil over medium heat until crisp tender. Add remaining ingredients and simmer for 3-5 minutes.

IMG_6005

Overall

Today went surprisingly well since I slept so poorly. I had pretty good energy levels all day. I got hungry round normal meal times. My food was really good today and very satisfying.

Day 3 is in the books and it rocked.

Leave a Reply

