Getting Real Day 1

Sleep
I went to bed late (11:30pm) and being that I get up at 6:00am I did not get enough sleep. Overall I slept reasonably well just not long enough. I must go to bed earlier tonight.

Breakfast

IMG_5981

Smoked Salmon Omelet

This idea is inspired from back in the day when I tried the Atkin’s Diet. It has all the ingredients of a bagel and cream cheese with smoked salmon without the unapproved foods (the bagel and cream cheese). You will notice I don’t really follow recipes but more get inspiration and provide general guidance.

For the omelet

  • 2 eggs, pastured, beaten
  • 1 TBSP approved oil, I used olive oil
  • 3 oz smoked salmon

Heat the oil in a medium pan over medium high heat. Add eggs and shake pan until eggs completely cover the bottom of the pan then reduce heat to medium. Allow eggs to cook until nearly set. Add smoked salmon and remove pan from heat. Allow to the omelet to sit in the hot pan for 1-2 minutes then plate.

For the toppings

I served this along side of the omelet but it could have been included with the salmon or served on top.

  • 6 grape tomatoes, sliced or 1 small tomato, diced
  • 2 TBSP red onion, diced
  • 1 TBSP capers
  • 1/2 avocado, sliced

Mix all the ingredients together and plate.

Breakfast was yummy and filling. I ate breakfast at 6:30 and not hungry until after 10:30am.

Lunch

IMG_5978IMG_5982

I started to feel hungry at 10:30am but waited to eat until my normal lunch time of 11:30am. My lunch was a large salad: romaine, spinach, cucumber slices, red bell pepper pieces, grape tomatoes, and tuna with a dressing made of extra virgin olive oil, apple cider vinegar, and Dijon mustard and some black pepper. Simple but really good and pretty filling and it took forever to eat.

Snack

IMG_5979

Pineapple chunks, 2 apricots, and 1 oz almonds. I ate the snack at 3:00pm so that I could go to the 4:30 class at the gym for my workout.

Exercise

CrossFit of course

AMRAP 5
40 Dumbbell Thrusters (35/20)
As Many Double Unders Until Round Ends
Rest 3 Minutes

AMRAP 4
30 DB Thrusters
As Many Abmat Situps Until Round Ends
Rest 2 Minutes

AMRAP 3
20 DB Thrusters
As Many Burpees Until Round Ends

DU + Situps + 5x Burpees = Final Score

I ended up only using 5# dumbbells because I was so tired. I started with 10# but that was not going to happen for that entire workout. I also just started trying double unders so it was single unders for me. My score: 55 single unders + 33 situps + 5x 9 burpees = 133.

Dinner

IMG_5986IMG_5983

Chicken breast that I sauted in coconut oil. When the chicken was nearly cooked through I added mushrooms to the pan for a minute or so and then deglazed with some organic chicken broth and covered to finish cooking. I served the chicken with roasted veggies: Brussels sprouts, baby carrots, and onions that I tossed with coconut oil and balsamic vinegar then roasted at 400 deg for 20 minutes. I also had a peach and some raspberries drizzled with full fat coconut milk. Everything was really good. I ate dinner at 7:00pm so I could be in bed before 10:00pm.

Overall

Overall Day 1 went pretty well. I did not feel that great but I think that was lack of sleep. I am looking forward to the next 59 days.

Leave a Reply

